Star Prize

Questions about the Star Prize? Keep scrolling for more information about the history of the Star Prize, which categories you can nominate your adviser for, information for this year's Star Prize, and a catalog of all previous Star Prize publications.

Star Prize 2021

We recognize how vital your advising relationships are, especially during this time of remote learning and advising. Thank you to all who have submitted nominations for your advisers.

About Star Prize

The Star Family Prizes for Excellence in Advising were established by James A. Star, AB 1983, to recognize and reward individuals who contribute to the College through their exemplary intellectual and personal guidance of undergraduate students.         
                                           Star Prize_recipients 2019

Prizes are awarded each year to twelve advisers:

3 First-year Advisers

Proctors and non-resident Board of First-year Advisers

3 Sophomore Advisers

House tutors who serve in this advising role
3 Concentration Advisers Students’ assigned departmental advisers (faculty or non-faculty are eligible)
3 Faculty Advisers

Thesis advisers or other formal/informal departmental advisers (only faculty are eligible)

If you have any questions about this award, the nomination process, or whether an adviser of yours is eligible to receive a Star Prize, please contact

All Star Prize recipients will receive certificates of distinction and recognition within the Harvard community later in the semester.

Past Star Prize Publications

Browse through our publications highlighting Star Prize Nominees and Recipients over the history of the award:

Back to top